Comet 2023 Association Championship - Bowmoor SC 23/24 September

Our first event at Bowmoor was a really successful and highly competitive Association Championship. Many thanks are due to the organiser Jacky Stagg, Bowmoor's Comet Fleet Captain. We shared the venue with the Byte Inland Championship. This helped make things busy on the water and really sociable off the water. There were 25 Comet entrants.

Day 1

Race Office Matt Banbrook was planning 4 races on day 1, in case the forecast strong winds proved too high to race on day 2. There was a fairly steady moderate wind in races 1 and 2, but the wind died down in race 3 and became very shifty and patchy. Racing for the day was therefore called off after race 3.

Andy Dale (Eyott SC) and Ben Palmer (Baltic Wharf SC) headed the fleet for most of race 1. However, the wind shifted and dropped towards the end of the last beat, and Eddie Pope (Ogston SC) overtook them both. Eddie stayed in front, followed home by Ben then Andy. Tobias Hancox (Eyott SC) was sailing well and came 4th.



© Jacqui Sturgeon

In Race 2 the first 4 from race 1 all featured strongly again, but Alan Bennett (Staunton Harold SC) sailed a brilliant race to win in the end. Eddie was 2nd, followed by Tobias, Ben and Andy.

The lighter winds for race 3 saw some new faces at the front of the fleet. Dave Peacock (Severn SC) had a battle with Eddie, but stayed in front of Eddie towards the end. Andy came 3rd, followed by Jacky Stagg (Bowmoor SC).

The overall positions after day 1 saw Eddie leading, with Andy and Ben tied in 2nd and Tobias in 4th. It would be all to play for if the wind allowed sailing on day 2. No discards applied until at least 4 races were held.

The weather stayed dry for the evening, so the club's BBQ was in operation for bring-your-own food.

Day 2

The strong winds on day 2 were not too strong to stop racing. The conditions did deter some helms and meant a reduced turnout, but despite a few capsizes most of the fleet coped well. Due to planned club racing the fleets needed to be off the water by midday, so there was an early start to fit in 2 races.



© Jacqui Sturgeon

Race 4 was won by Andy, who was relishing the wind. So was Ben who finished 2nd and Chris Robinson (Burghfield SC) who was 3rd. Eddie struggled to finish 4th.

Going into the final race there were 3 potential winners of the Championship - Eddie, Andy and



© Jacqui Sturgeon

Ben. Andy prevailed again in race 5, looking very comfortable in the conditions. Ben had to settle for 2nd, with Tobias 3rd and Eddie 4th.

Results in the final race meant that Andy became the Association Champion, a very worthy and popular outcome, He was 1 point ahead of Eddie, who in turn was 1 point ahead of Ben. A few points behind was Tobias in 4th. Particularly interesting is the fact that only Eddie within the leading 4 was using the White Xtra rig, which demonstrates that in the right hands a Standard rig is highly competitive.

Chris won the Veteran's prize in 5th and Alan the Ancient Mariner's prize in 6th. Jacky put in a very good performance to become the Ladies' Champion and 7th overall.

Eddie Pope

Club Comet Associations Championships Bowmoor SC

23/09/2023 to 24/09/2023

Date	23/09/2023 to 24/09/2	2023										
Boat No.	Helm	Age Category	Club	Sail type	Rl	R2	R3	R4	R5	Total	O/A	Pos
	Andy Dale	Veteran	EySC	S	3	5		1	1	13		1
	Eddie Pope	Ancient Mariner	OgSC	Xw	1	2	2	4				2 3 4 5
597	Ben Palmer	Adult	BWSC	S	2	4	5	2	2	15		3
358	Tobias Hancox	Adult	EySC	S	4	3	7	5			15	4
867	Chris Robinson	Veteran	BrSC	S	7	8	_	3	5	29		5
	Alan Bennett	Ancient Mariner	SHSC	Xw	5		12		DNS	50		6 7
894	Jacky Stagg	Veteran	BoSC	Xw	9	6	_	10	9	38	28	
231	Steve Gregory	Ancient Mariner	FPSC	Xw	8	9		9	RET	61	35	8 9
311	Stephen Bellamy	Ancient Mariner	WFSC	Xw	10	13	11	8	7	49	36	9
864	Peter Mountford	Ancient Mariner	SHSC	Xw	6	11	19	7	DNS	69	43	10 11 12 13 14
705	Martin Loud	Ancient Mariner	WFSC	Xw	12	16	17	12	6	63	46	11
532	John Coppenhall	Ancient Mariner	HuSC	S	13	15	18	11	8		47	12
849	Tim Higgs	Ancient Mariner	BrSC	Xw	18	DNS	8	13	10			13
639	Caroline Doran	Veteran	BoSC	Xw	16	10	DNS	14	11	77	51	14
902	David Peacock	Ancient Mariner	SeSC	Xw	OCS	7	1	DNS	DNS	86		15 16
695	Ken Baker	Ancient Mariner	SWSC	Xw	11	12		DNS	DNS	88		16
433	Stephen Dale	Veteran	EySC	S	15	20	21	15	12	83		17
868	Helen Evans	Veteran	SWSC	Xw	17	14	14	DNS	DNS	97	71	18
779	Jackie Light	Ancient Mariner	BoSC	Xw	14	17	16	DNS	DNS	99		19 20
400	John Sturgeon	Ancient Mariner	HLSC	Xw	19	19	15	DNS	DNS	105	79	20
908	Andy Simmons	Ancient Mariner		Xw	DNS	DNS	10	DNS	DNS	114	88	21
904	Nick Baber	Ancient Mariner	NSC	Xw	20	21	22	DNS	DNS	115		22 23 24 25
614	Carol Butcher	Ancient Mariner	HLSC	Xw	DNS	18	20	DNS	DNS	116	90	23
845	Nigel Fern	Ancient Mariner	SHSC		DNS	DNS	DNS	DNS	DNS	130	104	24
694	Alun Bevan	Adult	MTSC		DNS	DNS	DNS	DNS	DNS	130	104	25



Prize Winners



Association Champion - Andy Dale © Jacqui Sturgeon



1st Veteran - Chris Robinson © Jacqui Sturgeon



1st Ancient Mariner– Alan Bennett © Jacqui Sturgeon



1st Lady – Jacky Stagg © Jacqui Sturgeon